How a Gazebo Reincarnated and Became Yard Art!

This was this gazebo's first life.

The second life of the gazebo as yard art!

I have long admired my neighbor, Mary, and her portable gazebo that sits up next to the back of their house and provided them with shade.  I loved the ornate metal corners whenever I had the occasion to see them. I always wondered what they would look like by themselves. I thought they would make lovely freestanding trellises.  So when Mary asked me if I wanted this particular item because they were replacing it with a new gazebo, I didn’t hesitate. Not even for heartbeat.  

It took all of us, Mary and I along with the hubby’s,  to move it over to our back yard. They were very confused when I told them not to put it on the patio, that I had other plans for it. I actually knew exactly what I wanted to do with it. I put it in the new perennial bed for all kinds of things to climb on and to give the bed a sort of outdoor room feel. I just took it apart, and rearranged the pieces.    

I love it! It’s so much fun! And I have planted two clematis, some climbing spinach, and tiger lillies to best utilize the corners. I have plans to plant a climbing rose with both of the clematis which I think will be a lovely complement to each other and maximize the bloom spot. We considered putting hanging pots on the bars that stretched across the tellises, but ours were too heavy. And then I remembered these darling outdoor lamps I bought two years ago that I have not used yet, and this will be the perfect place to hang those. I also have plans for other assorted wind chimes and all kinds of things.  It just lends itself to all kinds of things that are fun!    

So here’s the lesson I learned.  If you really like some element of something, don’t just think about it for the dedicated use that it was originally intended for, and then throw it out when part of it is used up.  Think outside of the box, and think about what element of it you can recycle and reuse. What’s the thing you like about it? The length? The color? The material it’s made out of? Where would that particular element be an enhancement? Can you take it apart? Or use just a portion of it? Try it!! Then you have something that you not only salvaged, but something you don’t have to replace! Lots of good recycling karma coming your way.  Plus, you have the joy of creating something that is all your own idea. No one else has it except you. Well, until everyone copies your idea, which is the best of complements!

One response to “How a Gazebo Reincarnated and Became Yard Art!

  1. I love it! I think you have been playing too much Farmville though!!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

