A New Garden to plant!

 

Bulbs in the new bed this spring

A new bed on the south side of our house just waiting to be filled!

New garden bed looking east toward the creek

Last year was the perfect summer weather. My flowers looked great all summer and into the fall, which is not always the case every year. Mind you, the summer of 2009 did not, in any way, resemble a typical Kansas summer. It was wonderful. No wind driving at 40 mph all day, frying things to a crisp in 100 degree plus weather. There was the perfect amount of rain so none of the usual flood or drought that we have grown accustom to. It was without a doubt, the finest Kansas summer I remember in my 5 decades here. So, what did we do? Based on this weather, we put in a great big new flower bed.  How’s that for good reasoning?  

The excitement and lure of good weather for at best, two more months through the middle of June, means we can be in complete denial about what is on the horizon, while I do what all gardeners enjoy doing, and that is planting new plants that I haven’t had in a while or have never tried!! And they usually last at least two months, so I can pretend I’m really good at this for at least that long!

The new bed is on the south side of our house, so it get’s lots of sun. Last year I had over 10 tomato plants that got terrible blight, so I am going to move my tomatoes to avoid those problems and let that soil rest. I also miss having lots of flowers to cut like I did before we moved to Crafish Ranch.  I have enough room that I can try out all kinds of new things over the next few years!!! Yippee!!!

photos of what I planted in the fall

I planted bulbs in the fall, and they have not disappointed! I also realized last fall that I had all kinds of things that were perennials in my pots that I could plant. I tried Cardinal flowers, which I haven’t had before, and my new favorite plant, agastache, in a lovely pink and orange. I had salvia from my pots, moved those peonies that haven’t done well since I planted them under those trees.   I knew I wouldn’t actually remember all I planted, so I took lots of photos so I could tell what I planted and where.  There will probably still be some surprises. Seems like there always is in one’s garden. 

I used leaves, we have an extraordinary amount from all of the trees on our property, as mulch, over the winter. It got much colder than usual, 10 degrees below zero several nights, with extended very cold temperatures so we’ll see what has managed to survive.    

Reid is excited because he will have less lawn to mowe.  That is something we have wanted to work on for some time now, to cut back on the amount of lawn there is to take care of. We’re probably just exchanging one kind of work for another kind of work. Oh what the heck! I’ll have flowers to cut for arrangements and new space to plant!!

2 responses to “A New Garden to plant!

  1. Gail- I heard you talking about your new flower beds, but I didn’t realize quite what you did until I saw the pics. I can’t wait to see these huge beds in full bloom!! Good work!

    • I can’t wait until they are in full bloom either. Just a matter of fighting the grass until then. It takes about 3 years for perenials to really get to going. You can have starts then!

Leave a Reply

